Restomods!

SBC

Hey y'all!

Long story short is because of a couple of old Cannondales I've started a fun little passion project of restomoding bikes for friends and family. I've done/plan to do non-'dale bikes too, but I love the craftsmanship of these older frames. They make great launchpads for (sometimes wacky!) projects.

My personal goal is to take older frames that have been hammered on pretty dang hard, and give them a few more laps around the proverbial track. It's not my objective to take mint period examples and cannibalize them, but rather to put strange combinations of parts together on worn out bikes to get a fun result. I paint all of the bikes myself using spray paint, and the results have been decent!

If you want to check out some of the builds, here's a website that documents them in some detail. Apologies in advance, I'm a pretty poor photographer. The Ketchum Krewzer bikes are restomodded Cannondales, and I'll likely be finishing a couple more this summer!

shitbikecycles.com

Thanks for having me!
-SBC

black lightning 1987

Staff member
Welcome. It's great that you are getting neglected bikes back in operating condition. I've done a few odd builds too. I put a brand new Tiagra build on a late 80s SR700 that I picked up from a forum member. Made a pretty nice bike of it. I have a CAAD3 R4000 that I built with a flat bar, sub compact Coda double crank, and Shimano 9 with MTB shifters. Another odd build is an old steel Gary Fisher MTB that I built with Campagnolo 10 speed and Paul Thumbies. Since Campagnolo didn't make MTB components post 8 speed, the Thumbies allow mounting the Campagnolo bar end shifters to function as traditional thumb shifters.

SBC

The MO that seems to work for me is have a couple of cold ones and rummage around in the parts bin to see what fits. Bonus points if it mechanically functions and is practical, but makes little logical sense.