Hello from Birmingham, AL

Hi all,
I'm an amateur bike tinkerer and recently got my hands on a 1989 Cannondale Road frame. Excited to a part of the community.

It appears to have a collection of added components but I wonder if anyone can help guide me on how best to restore it.

It has a Shimano 105 Headset and FD, Suntour Shifters and RD and DiaCompe brakes. Some nitwit actually cut the brake lever clamps to get them off and some of the decals on the components are sanded off. As I understand it, these frames are mostly the same and the components are what seperates them. I'd like the components to match if I can. Does anyone have advice on what direction to go with this?

Attachments

• PXL_20210612_185234278.jpg
    PXL_20210612_185234278.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 69

black lightning 1987

Staff member
I think that's a 1989 SR400, which came with mostly Shimano 105 (model 1050) 6 speed components. There were 3 different forks that year. The higher end frames got the AL fork (likely SR made), and there were two different Tange steel forks. AL forks have less fatigue life and have generally gone out of fashion, so it could be considered an advantage to have either of the Tanges these days. It doesn't look like there are many original parts on the frame beyond the headset, seatpost, and stem. I can't tell about the wheels, crankset and handlebar.

black lightning 1987

Staff member
Lots of ways to go about rebuilding it. You could fairly easily find the 105 parts and put it back original, use something period correct but higher end, or go with something slightly more modern. Start with the wheels and see if they are something you want to stick with, and decide how much you want to spend on the project.